Endowed Professorship

Cheng Tsang Man Chair Professorship in Energy  
(formerly known as Cheng Tsang Man Professorship in Engineering)

The Cheng Tsang Man Professorship in Engineering was launched on 4 July 1999 with a total capital of S$3m, comprising a $1.5m gift from Prima Group and $1.5m from the government as matching fund.

The Fund has attracted a constellation of stellar scholars and scientists from some of the best centres of knowledge in the world including Carnegie Mellon University, Stanford University, Hosei University (Japan), University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Centre National se la Recherche Scientifique (France), Princeton University and Harvard University. Over the past decade, some 20 renowned thought leaders have shared research insights at NTU in diverse disciplines including wireless communications, computer graphics, computational electromagnets, nanoscience and molecular electronics and signal processing. 

Instead of a constant rotation of researchers who visit Singapore only for a short period of time, under the new name, a permanent Chair Professor will be hired to provide vision, intellectual leadership and mentoring of younger scientists around the theme of energy research. Professor Rachid Yazami was appointed Cheng Tsang Man Chair Professor in Energy from 15 November 2012 to 25 August 2013. He was succeeded by Professor Chen Tsuhan who was appointed Dean of College of Engineering, NTU and Cheng Tsang Man Chair Professor in 2016.​