Engineering Schools


School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Since its establishment as one of the three founding schools of the University, the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering has grown in size and stature to become one of the largest schools in electrical and electronic engineering in the world. It is today internationally renowned for its high academic standards and strong research orientation. The School is organised into six divisions: The Division of Power Engineering, Division of Circuits and Systems, Division of Information Engineering, Division of Control and Instrumentation, Division of Communication Engineering, and Division of Microelectronics.

The School has more than 160 full-time faculty members of broad and varied backgrounds, and with strong research and professional expertise. They are supported by more than 400 research, technical and administrative staff members. The high calibre of its faculty is matched by a well-developed teaching and research infrastructure comprising one of the most comprehensive and sophisticated constellations of research centres and laboratories in the world. These include 7 mega research centres, namely the INFINITUS (Infocomm Centre of Excellence), NOVITAS (Nanoelectronics Centre of Excellence, VALENS (Bio-Instrumentation, Devices and Signal Processing Centre of Excellence, OPTIMUS (Photonics Centre of Excellence),Luminous! (Centre of Excellence for Semiconductor Lighting and Displays), VIRTUS (IC Design Centre of Excellence) and EXQUISITUS (Centre for E-City) as well as 2 joint research centres – EMERL (Electromagnetic Effects Research Laboratory) and SaRC (Satellite Research Centre). These Centres are complemented by more than 50 laboratories that cover the full range of electrical and electronic engineering activities.

Apart from teaching, faculty members collaborate actively with renowned overseas universities, research institutes and multinational companies.

The faculty’s research output is widely recognised for its quality; a quality that has enabled the School to successfully attract around S$41 million of research funding in 2010. Faculty members also published a total of 541 SCI journal papers and 401 conference papers. As a measure of the high professional standing of the School’s faculty members, more than 100 international journals have appointed these distinguished academics as editorial members.

The School offers the Bachelor degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering as well as in Information Engineering and Media. It also offers several specialised Master of Science programmes by coursework as well as the Master of Engineering and PhD programmes by research. It has also formed strategic alliances with renowned overseas universities to offer graduate coursework programmes such as the Integrated Bachelor-Master programme with the Georgia Institute of Technology and Joint PhD programmes with the Technical University of Munich, University of Technology of Troyes and Paris Institute of Technology.

For more information regarding school's Curriculum Overview, Specialisations and Career Prospects, please refer to The School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering. ​