Visiting Committee


Prof Paul W.M. Blom


Prof Paul W.M. Blom

​Max Planck institute for Polymer Research​

​Prof Paul W.M. Blom is ​currently Director at Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research. Prior to joining Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Prof Blom has been Research Scientist at Philips Research Laboratories, Eindhoven, The Netherlands (1992 to 2000), Full Professor (Physics) at the University of Groningen (2000 to 2008) and Scientific Director of Holst Centre, Eindhoven, The Netherlands (2008 to 2012).

Prof Blom received his PhD. Degree from the Technical University Eindhoven in 1992 on picosecond charge carrier dynamics in GaAs. Among his notable awards and recognitions, Prof Blom has been Co-recipient of the EU Descartes prize 2003 for the development of Polymer Light-Emitting Diodes for Displays, Scientific American Top 50 Award of most important accomplishments in research, business or policymaking of 2005 for the invention of the organic ferroelectric memory, Principal Scientist Dutch Organization of Applied Research (TNO) (2009-2013), 2011 Thomson Reuters ranking Highly Cited Researcher, Ranked in 2014 Thomson Reuters list of The World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds, Recipient of the Gilles Holst Medal of the Royal Dutch Academy of Science 2015 (career award for applied science), 2018 Clavirate’s ranking of Highly Cited Researchers.

Due to his profound knowledge and rich experience, Prof Blom lends his expertise as:

  • ​Editorial Board Member of Advanced Materials (since 2003)
  • Editorial Board Member Advanced Electronic Materials and Materials Horizons (since 2016)
  • Member of Scientific Advisory Board of the National Research Foundation Singapore (since 2014)
  • Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of the CREATE programme, Singapore (since 2017)
  • Chair of the International Advisory Board of UK EPSRC Programme “Control of Spin in Organic Semiconductors“ (since 2015)
  • Editorial Board Member of Semiconductor Science and Information Devices (since 2018)
  • Member of the ESF College of Expert Reviewers (since 2019)