News & Events


NTU SCSE Students Broke the Student Cluster Competition LINPACK Record and Crowned Overall Champions in SuperComputing 2017

Published on: 27-Nov-2017

​​Led by Associate Professor Francis Lee Bu Sung (second from left), the winning team from SCSE, Team Supernova, comprised the following students from Computer Science: Liu Siyuan, Captain (Year 4), Shao Yiyang, Vice-Captain (Year 4), Hao Meiru (Year 2), Chen Hailin (Year 3), Shi Ziji (Year 3) and Tang Shuqian (Year 3).

The Student Cluster Competition was developed in 2007 to immerse undergraduates and high school students in high performance computing. Student teams design and build small clusters, with hardware and software vendor partners, learn designated scientific applications, apply optimisation techniques for their chosen architectures, and compete in a non-stop, 48-hour challenge, at the Super​Computing conference, to complete a real-world scientific workload, while impressing conference attendees and interview judges with their HPC knowledge.

This year, the Student Cluster Competition was held in conjunction with the prestigious SuperComputing 2017, the top global conference for high-performance computing attended by industry giants like Intel, Google and Nvidia, at Denver, Colorado from 13 to 15 November 2017.

Team Supernova, comprising students from NTU's School of Computer Science and Engineering (SCSE) and led by Associate Professor Francis Lee Bu Sung, won the Overall award by obtaining the highest score at the competition, beating 15 other universities from around the world. Along the way to winning the Overall award, they also broke the Student Cluster Competition LINPACK record by posting a score of 51.77 TFlop/s, taking the Highest LINPACK award. This is only the second time in the 11 years history of the competition, where one team has taken both awards.

​Well done Team Supernova, the pride of NTU Singapore!

Back to listing